Tags

,




Growing up, I thought cauliflower was a type of casserole. It was cheesy and creamy and had some random pale chunks in it, but it was most definitely comfort food. These days, the cauliflower I crave is salted, roasted, crunchy around the edges, and on a plate just for me. Clean food is nothing if not simple.

This is a terrific side-dish. Or, if you’re like me, you can scrape it onto a plate and devour it for lunch.

Clean Roasted Cauliflower

Makes two side dishes, or one lunch portion.

What you’ll need:

1 head cauliflower (mine was yellow – any color works)

2-3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

What to do:

Preheat oven to 350.

Remove green leaves and stems. Break apart and halve large florets. Spread on a baking sheet and toss with olive oil to coat evenly. You may add salt and pepper now, or after baking if you’re trying to limit salt (I always salt on my plate so I usually skip it when cooking as it looses flavor). Bake for 20-30 minutes, stirring once or twice until all sides are browned. If you want some extra-crisp cauliflower, turn on the broiler at the end for a minute, but watch carefully.

